Three Helena-West Helena School Board Members Recognized for Attaining ‘Master Board Member’ Status

By December 11, 2017 No Comments

Helena-West Helena School District (HWHSD) Board President Andrew Bagley, Board Vice President Sanetta Davis, and Board Secretary Lynn Boone have attained Master Board Member status by the Arkansas School Board Association (ASBA). This recognition is conferred upon Arkansas school board members that have earned at least 50 hours of professional development through ASBA’s Boardsmanship Awards Program.

“Getting the best training possible concerning the best practices for school boards is essential if we are to provide the leadership necessary to support our district’s efforts to have the great schools our students deserve,” said Bagley. “It is an honor to receive this recognition and I am so proud to be able to serve with this group who seek to make HWHSD a shining star in our state and region.”

“Training is a vital part of being successful,” added Davis. “The extensive training has broadened  my knowledge of what a school board member should be. I also believe it has helped me make sound decisions to bring about student success.”

Bagley, Davis, and Boone were recognized at the Awards Luncheon at the ASBA Annual Conference on December 7 in Little Rock.

The Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) is a private, nonprofit, membership organization affiliated with National School Boards Association whose mission is to promote student focused leadership in public education through training, advocacy and service for local board members through Arkansas.